Fragment Friday: Free Book edition

Fragment Friday Steve BoseleyThis week I want to share a piece from one of the character creation pieces I use in my latest FREE book. The book will be available to people that wish to sign up for my email newsletter. It is not available at the moment, but will be in the coming days. It will conain a huge amount of content, including three new stories, two of which will be available in my next collection.

The piece I wish to put before you today is from my ‘alternate’ superhero universe. This particular young man’s power is nothing that you haven’t seen before, but he has interesting way of deploying his power.

Here’s the moment he discovers what he can do…

Morgan sat up and stared at Jimmy. Slowly, his mouth fell open.

“What’s with you?”

“You fancy Nicola,” said Morgan.

Jimmy stared at his open-mouthed brother. Nicola Denman was two years above him at school. He’d never kissed a girl yet, but if he did, he hoped his first kiss was from Nicola Denman. He had never told Nicola this. He had never told anyone this. “Who said that?”

“You’re going to cheat on your maths test this week,” Morgan said, as if in a trance.

Jimmy had stopped laughing. He was considering taking some equations into his maths exam on Friday. He had discovered that if he wrote these equations on his black calculator case in black pen, it couldn’t be seen, unless you looked at it at just the right angle. He had kept this to himself as well, at least he thought had. Had he told one of his friends? No. It was not something you would talk about. Getting caught might have him fail his GCSE, and he didn’t want that. “Who told you that? It’s a lie.” He shot a quick glance back up towards the house; their mother was still in the kitchen, doing whatever it was she had been doing before. She gave no indication that she had heard Morgan.

“It’s not though, is it?” Morgan shook his head slowly. He thrust a finger towards Jimmy. “You’re afraid of Mrs Capper!” Morgan began to laugh.

Jimmy frowned as he watched his brother bend over and clutch his sides as he continued to laugh. “Wh-what?” he stuttered. Mrs Capper was very strict; she didn’t really shout – she didn’t need to. One look over her half-moon spectacles was enough to silence even the rowdiest of boys. Jimmy had never even truly admitted this to himself, let alone anyone else. “How do you know this stuff?”

Morgan had stopped laughing and stood upright. He shrugged. “I don’t know. I just do.”

“How long have you known? Who’ve you been talking to?”

“No one,” answered Morgan. “I just saw it.”

“Saw what? I haven’t done anything yet.”

“You were thinking it. Just now. He pointed down to the spot that the pair had been rolling around on moments earlier.

“Yeah? Well what am I thinking now, numpty?” He placed his hands on his hips and looked at his brother.

“I don’t know.” Morgan shrugged. “But I did see the other stuff.”

“I’m thinking of a number. What is it?”

Morgan frowned as he concentrated. “Five,” he said after a moment.

“No. Three hundred and four. Not even close. Now who told you about Nicola?”

“Nobody told me.” Morgan was becoming annoyed. “When I was sitting on your back, it just came to me.”

“Just like that? It just popped into your head. Is that what you’re telling me?”

I purposely left off how he got this information to give you the opportunity to guess.  Let me know in the comments what you think Morgan did to read Jimmy’s mind. If you are the first person to get it right, I’ll send you a free copy of A Sinister Six

If you want to see your own work here, just get in touch at authorsteveboseley (at) gmail dot) com.

Leave a Reply

