Fragment Friday: Next book edition. See what’s next…

Fragment Friday horror storyWelcome to another Fragment Friday.  Today I have an excerpt from my next book.  At this point, it has no name, and the story was thrashed out over last year’s NaNoWriMo, so it is a rough first draft.  It hopefully gives you an idea of what the story is about, but also some insight into how far a piece of work has to be polished!

AUTHORS: If you would like your work featured here on Fragment Fridays, along with links to purchase, social media links, website, etc., simply drop me an email.  Details are on the CONTACT page in the menu.

On to today’s clip.  Here we see a man in prison.  A serial killer.  He is being interviewed by a journalist.  Enjoy:

Stuart couldn’t see what she was pointing to, but he guessed it was the details of the crime. He didn’t need to know what it said, as he already knew what he had done. Most of the facts were common knowledge at this point. The trial had been a long, drawn out affair, and the details of each of the murders had been broadcast on the early evening news programs and in the tabloid press for the last year or so. The police had held back some of the details from the public, and Stuart had held back some details from the police. They wouldn’t believe me, he reasoned.

“Janine, Janine.” Stuart glanced up towards the ceiling. “Was she the nurse?”

“Yes. She was the first woman you killed. She was twenty seven and you killed her on her way home from work in,” Alex glanced back at her notes. “January of 2003.”

“That’s right. I remember now,” Stuart looked past Alex, a smile forming on his face, as if remembering a fond memory. “Janine. Yes. What can I tell you?”

“Well, what was it about Janine that drove you to do what you did?”

“She didn’t do anything. She was just there. Just unlucky, I guess.”

“Yes, but why do it at all?”

“You want me to tell you about my childhood? Is that what you want? You want me to tell you my mother beat me and my father molested me? Is that it?”

“Did they?”

“No. My mother died of cancer when I was young. My father raised me until he was killed in an accident at work when I was thirteen. We had a great relationship. My childhood was great, except for losing both of my parents.”

“So it was losing your parents, then?”

“No. Not really. It’s just,” he paused before leaning over the table towards Alex. He continued speaking through clenched teeth in a voice that sounded like air escaping from a burst tyre, “She just needed killing. That’s all.” He sat back down, smiling.

Alex placed her pencil on the table, knocking the others as she did. Stuart frowned at her.

“Sorry,” she said and collected the pencils together again, arranging them as before. She returned to her previous question. “How could she need killing? You didn’t know her, did you?”

“Come now, Alex. Haven’t you ever met someone and thought that person needs killing? Sure you have,” he answered before Alex had a chance to reply. “Sure you have. The only difference is that I actually acted on that thought.”

“But you knew nothing about this woman. How could she need killing?”

“She just did. Move on.”

I need a name for this story, plus it needs a complete edit!  If you’d want to read more about this man and his crimes, let me know! I’m looking for readers to help develop some stories in my next book.

If you’re an author and want to shout about your own work here, drop me a line, either from the CONTACT page, or leave a comment.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

