A Sinister Six (with FREE bonus content) is available for pre-order!

There is a lot in this update.  Read to the end to get it all!

This has been a long time in the making, but I am pleased to announce that A Sinister Six is now available to pre-order on Amazon.

Why pre-order?  I wanted to give people a chance to get two extra stories for no extra cost.  The print version (coming soon) has an additional two stories which will not appear anywhere else until my next collection is published, but I wanted to make that available to people that purchase an electronic copy.

I particularly wanted to highlight this opportunity here so that you, as followers of this blog, are out in front in getting that opportunity.  All that’s needed is for you to email me (authorsteveboseley@gmail.com) with a screenshot of your pre-order purchase, and I will send you a PDF copy of the two bonus stories.  You will get these stories within 24 hours, so you won’t have to wait for the pre-order period to finish before you can read them!

The pre-order period will run until the end of January 2017, so that’s how long you have to take advantage of this offer.

This has been a journey of almost a year to get to this point.  Along the way I have battled disappointments with cover design, formatting issues, story selection, not to mention my own health concerns (all good).

It feels amazing to have made it to this point.  I have been writing seriously for about eighteen months, and published my first book in May of this year.  I have been working towards A Sinister Six since last Christmas, and to see the finished product, to hold a physical copy of the book in my hand, is a buzz, for sure, but that doesn’t mean I’m finished.  It means I’m just getting started.

I already have several stories for my next collection, and the work I did over NaNoWriMo has added another 51k words, an additional five stories.  So no, this is not high point of my writing career.  It is the high point so far, but I’m aiming for more.  I’m in it for the long-haul, and I hope that you will come along with me.

As well as the challenges I mentioned above, I have also faced bouts of crippling doubt – is my work good enough?  Am I going to embarrass myself?  These were probably worse, because there was nothing practical that I could do to help myself – I could’t resubmit a document, I couldn’t watch a YouTube video, I could take some medication.  I think – no, I know – that this doubt was the main reason that this book has taken so long to get to the point that it is now.  It was easier to spend time redesigning the website, or ‘doing research’ than it was to place my work in full view of everyone.  Some of you reading this I don’t know.  Most of you I don’t know.  But some of you I know personally and, at some point, I will stand in front of you, and you’ll tell me what you thought of my year’s work.  That’s scary.

I have finally been able to overcome those nagging doubts and hit that ‘Publish’ button through the help and support of not only family and friends, but also from an amazing community of indie authors across the internet.  I’ve no doubt had phone or email conversations with some of you reading this, people that don’t know me, but people that wanted to offer a word of wisdom or encouragement, and for that I am thankful.

I would like to mention a few of those people in particular.  Where they have websites or blogs, I have linked them, and I STRONGLY recommend that you click those links and visit their websites and see what they have to offer.  Some of them won’t know what they’ve done and some will, but to all of them, I would like to say thank you.

Alannah Foley AKA ‘The Pyjama Writer’ – has given me so much support, encouragement and practical tips.  A prolific writer of mysteries, she is currently promoting a 25-author box set of mysteries.  If you’re a fan of mysteries, it’s a great deal!  A really helpful part of my development as an author!

Nicholas Rossis – A great Author, but also someone I have followed for a long time and watched and learned from.  His website has a TON of marketing tips for new authors.  Go there.  Read it all.  He also has a BLOG.  Nicholas, if you read this, your book covers are amazing!

Drew Avera – Is a best-selling sci-fi author, but also an active duty navy veteran.  Like Nicholas, I’ve followed Drew for a while and am constantly amazed and inspired (sometimes shamed) by his efforts to not only produce high quality work, but also to keep connected to his followers, even when connectivity is at a minimum!

Christoph Fischer – Aside from having what I consider to be an awesome looking website, Christoph was one of the first people I recall interacting with as a new author.  Not sure if he’ll remember this but I called him Christopher (brain was running too fast).  I remember it.  Now I follow along and am constantly inspired by (and envious of) the success he has had writing historical fiction.  He also has a BLOG.

Karen Oberlaender  – Karen was the first person to offer to put my upcoming book on her fantastic website.  She has also shared words of wisdom and encouragement since we first made contact.

Apologies if I haven’t mentioned you.  That’s my fault, not yours.

Others that I speak to directly, you know who you are.  Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

