What is there to learn from NaNoWriMo (It’s quite simple)

horror stories nano update

Boom! NaNoWriMo completed. If you notice that little bit of purple text in the image above, you will see it says WINNER. Really didn’t think I would get there. Had a bit of a wobble with 3 days to go, but pulled it out with one of my best days yesterday!

So what did I manage to achieve in the last 30 days? Well, surprisingly, quite a lot. Here’s the list, along with associated links to make the reading more educational and informative:

  • 15 blog posts – That’s one every other day! That surprised me, as I thought all my time would be taken up writing my 50k words. There were some NaNo updates, I introduced Fragment Friday and Story Starters . Check them out.
  • Created a landing page for my author website www.authorsteveboseley.com Have a look and see what you think. It still needs work. If you’ve not visited that site, I suggest giving it a look and signing up to get your hands on a 9K word horror story. This will be one of the LEAD STORIES in my upcoming collection, A Sinister Six. And you can get it EARLY. And you can get it FREE.

  • I made 259 Tweets (that’s actually UP for me by 25%), with 16.7k impressions (up 30%). Follow me on Twitter .
  • I formatted the manuscript for A Sinister Six on Createspace. https://www.createspace.com No small feat.
  • I spent more time looking into the cover design for the final version of A Sinister Six, and made some enquiries.
  • I told my voice-actor friend that I wrote in the back of the book, that there would be an audiobook version in the new-year. So now he has to do it. If you’re reading this, you know what you have to do. If you have ever thought about having your book turned into an audiobook, let me know and I will pass it along to him. I’m not linking this one, as I haven’t asked him yet!
  • I attended 2 webinars (that’s like pretend school for nerds) about SEO (Search Engine Optimisation), and improving conversion rate. They were very fun (not really, but they were helpful).   Any authors reading this, you should search out Brian Dean at www.backlinko.com there is too much good information there to mention it all, checkout http://backlinko.com/on-page-seo which is an infographic on the anatomy of a perfectly optimised page.
  • I discovered Algernon Blackwood , a horror author of the late nineteenth / early twentieth century. Check him out.
  • I discovered (and interacted) with a blogger by the name of Gordon A. Wilson, who helped me to rediscover my comedy bone. There was one post in particular, Top Secret Marketing for Non-Selfpromotionist, that really hit home with me. Go and visit his site http://www.firetok.com but when you get there, don’t say I sent you.
  • I had ideas for two new books. The first is putting down in writing the text conversations from a friend of mine. She has a very interesting way of communicating with her friends. Well, with me at least. I can’t remember the second one, but here was one, I promise. I wrote it down somewhere.
  • I began preparations to release one of my longer short stories as a FREE ebook. It’s called Snap of the Fingers.  It’s about to go on sale as part of A Sinister Six, which is a collection of seven horror stories (don’t think about it too hard). Just think, if you got that FREE and got the other one FREE, that would be almost ONE THIRD of the book free!  In case you forgot, GO HEREor click the big red button on the home page here.
  • If you’re still reading this far down, well done and thank you. As a thank you, if you get your free story by GOING HERE , then email me (authorsteveboseley@gmail.com) from the same email address with the code word ‘Algernon’ in the subject line, I will send you another free story, currently available nowhere else.
  • I’ve made some changes to my author website, mostly SEO but also content updates and as of today (1st December 2016), most of the metrics are up: sessions up 118%, users up 65%, page views up 58%.
  • For the blog, I have added extra value content in the form of flash fiction, story excerpts, and Story Starters that has resulted in a 56% increase in blog followers, which is not too shabby.
  • I have also began to use ‘power words’ in the headlines of some of the posts, which has resulted in a 45% increase in clicks on the links. Stats by www.bitly.com
  • I also work full time as a volunteer coordinator. 9-5, but it really cuts into the writing time!
  • I continued to post updates on how Multiple Sclerosis has affected my NaNoWriMo efforts (it didn’t – well not too much).

 

So what’s the overall take-away from this last month?

I think it is clear that the old adage is true: If you want something doing, ask a busy person [ Tweet that]. I think the act of sitting down every day to write is habit-forming. I’m sitting here, a day after NaNo, and so far the word count on this post is already over 800 words, and it feels good.

Did you attempt NaNoWriMo? How did you fare?

Leave a Reply

