Fragment Friday NaNoWriMo Edition

horror stories Fragment Friday

In case you haven’t noticed, it’s NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month for November.  I have been participating this year for the first time, however, I am writing a collection of short stories rather than a novel.  I’m still aiming to hit the required word count, which is 50K words.  If you read any of the updates, you will see that I am on target (as you can see from the last update).

I am currently part way through story number 4.  It’s about a long-lived serial killer.  I already posted some of that on HERE, but I now offer you another excerpt from later in the story.  As usual. it’s a first draft, so don’t get bogged down if you see a spelling or grammar error.

If you enjoy any part of this story, or have anything to say about it, leave a comment at the end.  Enjoy:

It was Alex that broke the silence. “We left off yesterday with you telling me that you had something to say to me today.”

“Yes, I did.” He offered nothing. He was sure that he would be out of this prison by the end of the day, and he wanted to use what little time he had left being awkward.

Alex waited for him to continue. When he didn’t she pushed on. “Something that was going to ‘make my book’ I believe it was.”

“You won’t believe me, though,” Stuart said.

“I might, if you told me.” This was quickly becoming tiring for Alex. She picked up one of the pencils and put the tip to the pad.

Stuart glanced at the now-broken line of pencils, then back at Alex.

“If you are going to make it hard for me today, Stuart, I’m not going to be as accommodating.”

Stuart smiled and nodded. “Touché.”

Alex replaced the pencil and tucked the others back into line. “Now, what is it that you couldn’t tell me yesterday?” She clicked the Dictaphone to record.

“It’s a long story. It started a long way back. A long way.”

“Tell me,” said Alex.

“Before I start, I know you’re listening,” He glanced up at the overhead domed camera. “and I don’t care.” He was silent for a moment, before continuing. “It’s getting harder and harder to remember where it all started, but it was a long time ago. I was born somewhere in mainland Europe. I don’t think the country even exists anymore. The name escapes me.”

“You can’t remember the country you were born in?”

“No. I’ve been to some many places, countries, cities, they all seem to merge into one.”

Alex shrugged and scribbled a note on her pad.

“Ansas. My given name at birth was Ansas. My childhood was a tough one. My father taught me to hunt with a spear. Can you believe that? A spear! My first kill was a deer. I must have been eight. Maybe nine? My father struck the first blow, knocking the animal down, but he made me strike the killing blow.”

“Records show you were born in a hospital in Leicester, Stuart. There are photographs of you with your parents. I’ve seen them.”

“Not me. Stuart, maybe, but not me.”

“You said that yesterday. You want me to believe you’re not Stuart Rogers?”

“To be honest, I don’t care if you believe me or not, in fact I fully expect you disbelieve everything I am going to tell you.”

“Then why tell me? Is it for their benefit?” It was her turn to look up at the camera. “Because if it is, I don’t think it’s going to get you very far. Stuart, you’ve killed six people –”

“That you know of,” Stuart interjected.

“Okay, that we know of. I can believe that there may be other bodies as yet undiscovered, but the rest? I don’t think I can go for that.”

“I don’t need you to go for it. It is simply a fact of me life. You wanted that, so that’s what I’m giving you. Believe it or don’t.”

Alex stared at him for several seconds. She couldn’t get a reading from his face. It gave nothing away. She would have to let him play out his fantasy and hope there was something in there that she could use. She motioned him to continue.

That’s it for today.  Leave a comment below and share, share, share!  If you would like to see more of any particular story, let me know.

 

One thought on “Fragment Friday NaNoWriMo Edition

Leave a Reply

