NaNoWriMo Day 24 Plus more Uber Hacks for Productivity

horror stories nanowrimo update

Jump into this post for more next-gen writing tips!

Day 24.  Despite a stinking cold, and being stuck outside for half an hour after falling over, I managed to get almost 1600 words done today. I could have done more, but I wanted some time to get another update completed, plus some well deserved hours break!

I was unsure about the story I am currently writing, as I hadn’t planned this one. This goes against my previous advice, of planning as much as you can (Read that here). With such a tight deadline, I didn’t think it would be wise to spend a few days deliberating and plotting the story, so with this one, I just started writing to see where it would take me. What I came up with was based on a poem:

“Yesterday, upon the stair, I met a man who wasn’t there

He wasn’t there again today I wish, I wish he’d go away…”

                        Antigonish

                                          William Hughes Mearns

It’s not much to go on, but I thought it had enough in there to lend itself to horror, or ‘Weird Fiction.’ That’s a genre, in case you wondered. Wikipedia defines it thus:

Weird fiction is a subgenre of speculative fiction originating in the late 19th and early 20th century. It can be said to encompass the ghost story and other tales of the macabre. Weird fiction is distinguished from horror and fantasy in its blending of supernatural, mythical, and even scientific tropes.

For a more complete definition, you can look at the Wikipedia page by clicking HERE.

Yesterday I let you in on some amazing and top secret writing hacks (read them HERE).

Today I want to let you know about some next-gen techniques for writing whilst disabled. Even if you are not disabled, you may find some of these simple tricks helpful. As before, they should all be used carefully and with adult supervision.

  • The mobile phone trick – being under the weather has made my MS Sooooo much worse. As a result, I fell over whilst trying to reach my car today. I couldn’t get up, but what I did do, was pull out my phone and started dictating the story. Boom.
  • Leave notepads everywhere – My mobility is limited, so if I get to the kitchen I sit and rest. Get to the toilet, sit and rest. Get to the living room, sit and rest. By having a notebook in each of these spots means that I can carry on from where left off from when I was in the toilet. When my children are in, I get them to collect all the pages, and we Cellotape them all together. Voila!
  • Phone and dictate – if you have fallen and there is no notepad nearby, pull out your phone and phone your friends. Dictate 500 words to each of them. Ask them to type it up and email it to you. This should be used with caution, as quickly you might not have any friends.
  • If you have no paper, simply carry a pen with you and write your story on your arms, legs, torso, etc. To be successful, you can never wash (this will have a negative effect on the long game options below).

The Long Game

These may not help with this year’s writing, but should pay off later:

  • Meet a girl / boy, fall in love and get married (optional) – Hopefully your partner will want to help you. When they ask what they can do to help, you say, “Please write me 500 words. Here is the topic.” This can work especially well for disabled people. Tell your partner that you are struggling as a result of your disability. If they won’t help, you can quote the Disabilities Act 2010, and *threaten them with the law.
  • The ‘children game’ – Associated with the above tip, although the marriage part is again optional. Once you are in love, have children (I recommend 2), and these can be obtained through a variety of methods, then put these children to work, getting them to type up your dictated notes. For a more efficient method, tell them it’s a school project.

The Long, Long Game

  • The ‘Slow and steady wins the race’ approach –. If you are struggling to write much, or are unable to dictate using one of the methods already outlined here, you can set yourself a realistic target, such as 10 words per day. If you start writing at 20 and write till you are 72, at this rate you will be able to complete 13 novels of 100,000 words.

* Don’t threaten your partner

Please use these new skills carefully. I cannot be held responsible for marriage breakups or being sued by your children.

If you have any others, please let everyone know by commenting below. If anything said here has been of help, please click some of the share buttons below. Thanks!

 

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 24 Plus more Uber Hacks for Productivity

  1. You have a full plate in store for your future! Good luck achieving all your goals. Considering that you worked in an excellent word count on what sounds like a tough day, I applaud you.

    Thanks for the info on weird fiction. I’d never heard the term and I love to learn new genres.

    Like

  2. […] In case you haven’t noticed, it’s NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month for November.  I have been participating this year for the first time, however, I am writing a collection of short stories rather than a novel.  I’m still aiming to hit the required word count, which is 50K words.  If you read any of the updates, you will see that I am on target (as you can see from the last update). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

