NaNoWriMo (With MS) Update – Day 23 Plus NaNo Hacks For Busy People

NaNoWriMo steve boseley

Day 23.  Been a while since I updated you on my progress.  If anyone is following along, you are probably thinking ‘No Update = NaNo Fail.  Well, I hate to break it to you, but I’m still in the game!  I’ve had a few days where my health has made it difficult to hit my word totals, more health updates further down this page.

NaNoWriMo hacks – Scroll down to find out where you can find extra minutes in your day to help with NaNoWriMo. These will work for even the BUSIEST writer.

As you can see from the above graph, I have managed to stay just above the ‘average’ line. You will also see that some days I slipped very close to being under that line. I had one day where I was about 1000 words short. That was a bad day. I had several other days where I had to write a bit in the morning, at bit in my dinner break at work, and a bit at night.

Working this way helped me to keep close to my target, and then on days when I was better, I could move ahead again.

Because all my useful writing hours were allocated to NaNoWriMo’s 50K words, the updates and blog posts have had to slide. I’ve squeezed a small amount of time to adding a landing page to my website. Have a look and let me know what you think: www.authorsteveboseley.com If you haven’t already grabbed your FREE story, you can do that here.

What have I learned in days 14-23?

The first thing I’ve learned, is that NaNoWriMo is hard. That’s not really news. But what I have learned, is not to underestimate that difficulty. My first ever NaNo challenge got off to an amazing start, but it has become steadily harder for the following reasons:

You need to devote time EVERY day [Tweet that]. If you, like me, hold down a day job whilst pursuing your writing dream, there are a lot less available hours in the day to make that happen.

So how can you find time?

  • Try starting in the early morning. Getting up before the daily tasks begin (children, showers, breakfast) may give you a few extra minutes to pump out a hundred words or so.
  • Stay up late at night (kind of obvious). When the kids, or your partner is in bed and the house is quiet. Perhaps not early AND late, otherwise you’ll have no energy left for writing.
  • At work, tell your boss you have an upset stomach and go into the toilets for large parts of the day. You might need to make some unpleasant sounds every now and then to fool people.
  • Take up smoking and make good use of your smoking breaks by writing a quick hundred words.*
  • If you work in a busy office, make use of the quick swap keys for Word. Alt-F6 can quickly switch between open documents. If your boss comes looking, distract them by pointing out of the window and saying “Look, is that the Space Shuttle?” Works every time.
  • If you have a PA at work, dictate to them while you are ‘visiting’ the head office in Scotland.
  • Try to develop automatic writing, which is writing without being consciously aware of writing (it’s a thing. Read how to learn it HERE).  That way, you can type with one hand and write with the other.
  • Get a group of close friends to help you. Give them a rough idea of the story and get them to start a different chapter each for you.

*I do not endorse smoking. You can just pretend.

I hope some of these NaNo hacks can work for you.

MS update

I’ve had a nasty cold for a few days. Whilst that doesn’t sound too bad, it makes all my other symptoms worse, so I’m back to typing with one had, and I’m struggling to get from me seat, to the Mac.

Slow and steady wins the race.

Let me know if you have any other useful hints for busy writers.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo (With MS) Update – Day 23 Plus NaNo Hacks For Busy People

Leave a Reply

