NaNoWriMo (With MS) – Day12

NaNoWriMo for author Steve Boseley

I missed updating for day 9,10,11.  I hit that second week slump, I think.  The word count is still there, but it has taken me a lot longer to get there, hence no updates.  You’ll probably end up reading this on the 13th of November, but as you can see from the above chart, I’m still on course to hit the magical 50k mark.

As I mentioned last time, I’ve been writing in bursts of about 20 minutes at a time, as the words have seemed harder to come by, but it has been enough to get me over the line.  I’ve also been posting some updates on the blog, and also over at my author website.

What have you missed?

  • I have made the first Story Starter available.  Click THIS LINK to view that post, but in essence, it is a ready – made start to a story that you can use to jumpstart your own story.  Perhaps you are a new author, looking to get a story idea, or a more experienced author, looking to challenge yourself by working this into your story.  Either way, it’s FREE, and this week it’s a MONSTER 5000 words.
  • My latest Fragment Friday post takes in part of one of the stories in the collection I am writing for NaNoWriMo.  You can read that HERE.

I’ve also been hitting Facebook and Twitter, promoting what I have written, but primarily, I’ve been looking with added value I can offer readers.

So far, readers can:

  • Read excerpts of my upcoming works.
  • Read excerpts from some of my published works.
  • Read a FREE full 9k word horror story called I’m Watching You. – You can get hold of this story HERE.  It’s one man’s descent into madness.

What have I learned in the last few days?

NaNoWriMo is hard.  Harder still when you have a day job.  And a family.  And MS.

Story Starters Author Steve BoseleyI’ve also eben looking at effective ways to promote my writing, and to that end, I’ve been creating images that can be used on Facebook or Twitter (or anywhere else, for that matter).  There are lots of websites available that offer FREE CC0 (Creative Commons Zero).  These are images that are copyright free, and can be used / altered in any way without a credit.  You can find out about some of those sites HERE.  But before you go ahead and start using them, consider changing them slightly, otherwise you run the risk of having identical images for many other people on the net.  Personalise it.  It could be something as simple as changing the text:

GIMP logoYou don’t have to spend loads of money to make these changes.  I recommend using GIMP (GNU image manipulation Program).  Its FREE and can do some pretty clever image manipulation.  You can download this by visiting their website.  Click the image to go there now.

MS Update

Over the last few days, I have been finding that I am struggling to find words.  Imagine you are at your favourite coffee shop and you need someone to pass you your drink.  But you can’t remember the word for cup.  You know what it is you want, but the word just does not want to come to mind.  You end up pointing and gesticulating, using the universally accepted sign for drinking (open fist, pretending to pour it into your mouth).  Well that’s been me for the last few days.  It’s not a new thing, but it sure makes writing difficult and SLOW.  There is a significant amount of research on this.  Some days it’s worse than others, but generally it just makes things awkward.

I am not sure if this is as a result of the extra thinking time I have put in to NaNoWriMo, but it could be.  My occupational therapist says i need to take HALF AN HOUR out of every day doing NOTHING.  Not writing, not listening to music (except relaxation), not listening, not thinking about your next story.  Just try it.  It’s really hard!

That’s it for today.  Just one last thing.  Have a look at this blogger, Gordon A. Wilson.  He has written an amusing pst, titled Top Secret Marketing for Non Selfpromotionists.  Very amusing.  Drop by and pay him a visit.

 

Leave a Reply

