Fragment Friday – NaNoWriMo Edition!

For today’s story excerpt, I offer you a piece of the second story from the collection I am writing.  It has no name yet, but it is about a serial killer that has been killing for a long time.

Here’s today’s excerpt (as before, it’s a first draft):

“Lets go, then,” Stuart said, smiling.

“Thank you. Let’s begin with your first victim,” Alex flipped some of the pages of her notebook. “Janine Waterson,” she said, when she found what she was looking for. “What was it about Janine? What did she do to deserve this?” Alex tapped her pencil on her pad.

Stuart couldn’t see what she was pointing to, but he guessed it was the details of the crime. He didn’t need to know what it said, as he already knew what he had done. Most of the facts were common knowledge at this point. The trial had been a long, drawn out affair, and the details of each of the murders had been broadcast on the early evening news programs and in the tabloid press for the last year or so. The police had held back some of the details from the public, and Stuart had held back some details from the police. They wouldn’t believe me, he reasoned.

“Janine, Janine.” Stuart glanced up towards the ceiling. “Was she the nurse?”

“Yes. She was the first woman you killed. She was twenty seven and you killed her on her way home from work in,” Alex glanced back at her notes. “January of 2003.”

“That’s right. I remember now,” Stuart looked past Alex, a smile forming on his face, as if remembering a fond memory. “Janine. Yes. What can I tell you?”

“Well, what was it about Janine that drove you to do what you did?”

“She didn’t do anything. She was just there. Just unlucky, I guess.”

“Yes, but why do it at all?”

“You want me to tell you about my childhood? Is that what you want? You want me to tell you my mother beat me and my father molested me? Is that it?”

“Did they?”

“No. My mother died of cancer when I was young. My father raised me until he was killed in an accident at work when I was thirteen. We had a great relationship. My childhood was great, except for losing both of my parents.”

“So it was losing your parents, then?”

“No. Not really. It’s just,” he paused before leaning over the table towards Alex. He continued speaking through clenched teeth in a voice that sounded like air escaping from a burst tyre, “She just needed killing. That’s all.” He sat back down, smiling.

Alex placed her pencil on the table, knocking the others as she did. Stuart frowned at her.

“Sorry,” she said and collected the pencils together again, arranging them as before. She returned to her previous question. “How could she need killing? You didn’t know her, did you?”

“Come now, Alex. Haven’t you ever met someone and thought that person needs killing? Sure you have,” he answered before Alex had a chance to reply. “Sure you have. The only difference is that I actually acted on that thought.”

“But you knew nothing about this woman. How could she need killing?”

“She just did. Move on.”

Alex considered pressing him on the subject, but instead made a note to revisit this at some later point. Consulting her notes, she offered her next question.

“Okay, well tell me about yourself. Before these women, the police didn’t know about you. How does a supply teacher go from marking homework to serial killer?”

“From my point of view, it wasn’t that straightforward. I haven’t always been a supply teacher. In fact, I could give less than a shit about kids and teaching.”

“What jobs have you previously held?” asked Alex.

Stuart laughed and shook his head. He wagged his index finger, still shackled to the table, at Alex.

“Not yet. I’m not ready to share that yet.”

“When would you be ready?”

“Soon. Maybe next time you visit me. I’ll have to think on it.”

“Okay, I guess.” Alex frowned and made another note on her pad. “Well let’s talk about the others. It was six, wasn’t it?”

“At least.” Stuart nodded.

“There are more?”

“Many, many more.”

“How many?”

“Let’s just say practice makes perfect.” He smiled again. “Let me tell you about the six women. The rest can wait.”

Alex continued to scribble notes and ask questions as Stuart recounted the details of the six women he had killed over the space of two years. He was candid in his responses, leaving only one minor detail unspoken. Minor, but it was the one piece of evidence that had been overlooked. One detail, that once revealed, would connect many hundreds of deaths to this small and unassuming man. A detail that Alex Wright would never get the chance to reveal.

That’s today’s piece.  More next Friday.  Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

3 thoughts on “Fragment Friday – NaNoWriMo Edition!

  1. “Stuart laughed and shook his head. He wagged his index finger, still shackled to the table, at Alex.” I don’t quite understand the “at Alex”, does it refer to, the wagging of the finger? If yes shouldn’t it be “He wagged his index finger at Alex, still shackled to the table”?

    Like

    • It could work that way, but that sounds like Alex is shackled to the table and that’s a different type of book! I will go back and rewrite quite a few parts of this story, as I was getting down the words as fast as I could for the NaNoWriMo challenge, so that includes spelling and grammar errors!
      I’m really grateful you took the time to read and comment. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

