Diary of a NaNoWriMo first-timer (with MS!).

nanowrimo-logo

Well, it’s that time of year again. It’s time to try and get 50,000 words down on paper (onto screen) in the space of just one month. I have previously blogged about the difficulties of just such a challenge, as a person with MS.(read some of that here ) . I also said somewhere that your goals as a writer should be SMART and in particular they should be achievable and realistic (read that here ). Is it realistic for me?

Hell, I don’t know! I guess we’ll find out together! And that’s another reason to state my intentions here: by making myself accountable to others, I’m hoping that will spur me on to completion of this mammoth project!

I intend to try to update this diary as often as I can over this month, so at the outside I would like to do once a week, preferably more, but that’s as long as it doesn’t interfere with my actual 50k words!

If any of you are thinking about trying this at some point in the future, I hope this will give you an idea of what’s involved. I will be including the following information:

  • Daily word counts (obviously)
  • Running total or words remaining to completion (not decided yet)
  • Anything that I have felt made it easy / difficult for that day
  • External factors and how I have overcome them (or not, as the case may be)
  • Answers to any questions that may come my way (email authorsteveboseley@gmail.com )

Finally, I wanted to let you know that I will be writing a selection of short stories rather than a novel, not sure if that makes a difference, but I will still be aiming for the 50k words! I’ve drafted outlines for several of the stories, but I’m not sure how a couple of them will end. We’ll just have to see!

That’s it. I’m signed up and registered. Now comes the hard part. All encouragement will be gratefully received!  Let me know if you plan to take it on this year by leaving a comment below.

One thought on “Diary of a NaNoWriMo first-timer (with MS!).

Leave a Reply

