Diary of an author with MS (3/12/15)

Thursday

Thursday is my day off from my main job. I use this time to tutor maths in a primary school for a couple of hours in the morning. After loading my wheelchair in and out of my car a couple of times, I was shattered. My plan was to come home and write in the afternoon, but that got pushed back a bit when I discovered I didn’t have the energy to get from my kitchen back to my living room and the Mac! After a while spent sitting on the floor in the kitchen, I tried to pull myself up, but only succeeded in pulling down a half-empty bowl of cereal on my head, complete with Cornflakes and milk! I wasn’t happy.

400 Words and audiobooks

I did eventually make it to the Mac and got down 400 words, this time on something else I’d been working on. It’s the story of a psychiatrist who gets drawn in by a particular client.

I also spoke with a voice actor, Charles Hyner (@charles_hyner), about getting some of my work read, and made available as an audiobook. He had read a couple of stories I have written, along with my novella, Die, Blossom, Bloom, and we discussed the possibility of making these stories available in an audio format. It’s not something I had previously considered, but as another way to bring attention to my work, it seemed like too good of an opportunity to pass on, so we agreed that he would initially work on two pieces of my writing and aim to release them at some point in the near future.

He has already recorded a very short excerpt from my novella, and I have to say that it is amazing to hear some of your written words being voiced. Hearing his take on the accent of my main character really brought the piece to life for me. We are happy to move on with that style for the remainder of the piece, but he has asked me what sort of person a character in another story is, to help him create the voice for him!

Have you ever considered audiobooks as a way to promote your own writing? Share your experiences in the comments.

Leave a Reply

