It’s written. So now what?

 

blogging-336375_640I know we’ve not talked about the craft of writing yet, but that’s OK. The goal I set for myself (see last post) was simply to begin writing. So that’s what I did: I started writing. I wrote what I considered to be my masterpiece – a 1500 word short story about a man trapped inside his own head, with a creature hunting his memories down.

The next step was to get someone to read it. So where do I find people to read my work? I wasn’t ready to sign a book deal yet, so HarperCollins was out of the question. I just wanted to post it somewhere that people would read and possibly comment. To that end, I started looking for online writing communities, and I found a few. So I set myself up with an account and started posting my work. I made sure the phone was free in case anyone read my work and needed to get in touch (how do you do sarcasm in print?).

Here are a few that I have come across, in no particular order:

Authonomy

Authonomy.com

‘Join an online community where writers become authors and great books get published.’

That’s the tag line that greets you when you visit Authonomy, a writer’s site from major UK publisher HarperCollins.

You are invited to upload your work, where members of the lively community can look at and comment on your work, offering feedback. Each month, five manuscripts are selected and reviewed by HC editors for possible publication.

There is a very active forum where you can get advice on writing, publishing, self-publishing, to name a few.

logo_v2.1Wattpad.com

‘Wattpad is an escape for people who love to read and a springboard for anyone who has ever contemplated writing something’.

Wattpad claims to offer connections with 30 million writers and readers across the world. The site offers awards for the best stories, as well as regular writing contests – in June, writers are being asked to post their fanfiction. Give it a look!

writerscafe-orgWriterscafe.org

Very similar in approach to Authonomy, Writer’s Café offers writers a place to post their work and receive reviews and feedback from other members of the community, along with advice on improving your work.

There are regular competitions in a variety of genres that come with award badges that you can proudly display on your profile. The community is very active, offering topics around the craft of writing, genre, and publishing amongst others.

figment_generalbannerFigment.com

Figment offers you a place to showcase your work, with similar options to the above sites. Polls, quizzes, and contests are on offer, as is a huge community, with many forum topics from self-promotion to fanfiction, and the writing life to recommended reading. There is also a forum dedicated to book covers – give some details about your book / story and get yourself a free cover (just be sure to be aware of copyright issues, as not all images used are royalty-free)!

writeon_logo-134x42._V308179578_Writeon.amazon.com

Amazon’s own crowd-editing and writing service. They refer to it as a ‘story-lab’ as it’s all about experimentation – think you’ve got something worth reading? Post it to the site and have other authors comment and critique it.

As you may expect with Amazon, there is a busy community, with articles on writing as well as numerous writing prompts.

There are five to be going on with. When I get more time later I will post a few more. The hardest part isn’t choosing which site to post your work with. Posting your work is the hard part…

Do you have any sites that might be useful for new writers to post their work, receive feedback, and get advice? Let me know in the comments below.

 

4 thoughts on “It’s written. So now what?

  1. This is very helpful! I have a Wattpad account and am going to give the others a look as well.
    Another great writer’s site is Critters.org. You can join a community of writers depending on genre where you can send in your work to be critiqued by other members. Critters is super organized and is a great way to connect with other writers.

    Like

  2. I’ll look at Critters.org, thanks Zed, thanks. Wattpad was my first entry into sharing my work, and it was good for a while. There are some great writers on there, but it seems to be inhabited by teens that like Twilight-type fiction. Give it a look and let me know what you think. I quickly moved to Writerscafe, which is really good for feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

